Travel Skills Tuesday #2

Traveling Cost Consciously

Welcome to Travel Skills Tuesday! in these issues of my Travel Newsletter I’ll drop travel tips and tricks with a shared topic! The theme for this “Travel Skills Tuesday” newsletter is…

Traveling Cost Consciously

This week I’m sharing my favorite tips for Spending Intentionally when traveling! It’s easy to focus on saving on flights and hotels but what about all of the other travel costs? getting around? activities? and even eating on your travels? Let’s not forget about saving money there too! I’ll share all of that travel tea here!

  • ✨Saving Money on Meals ✨ 

    • 📍What is TooGoodToGo?

  • 💵 Planning Getting Around at Your Destination

  • 🗺️ Spending Smart on Travel Activities

  • ✨ Top 3 Tips for Savings on Hotels and Flights!

Culinary Thriftiness

I love to splurge on dining experiences! but I don’t do this for every mean

  • Local Markets & Food Trucks are typically better priced and a good way to support local businesses when you travel.

  • Restaurant Week - many cities have a seasonal celebration of its local restaurants where they run meal deals for a wide range of restaurants. I love planning city trips around these as a foodie!

  • Too Good To Go - this is an international app working to eliminate food waste from restaurants. You reserve a surprise to-go box and pick it up at 1/3 of the normal price. I love using this when visiting big or expensive cities.

  • The easiest way get a cheap meal is to pick a hotel includes free breakfast! this can tide you over to dinner.

Saving on Transportation

Getting around at your destination is often a hidden cost of travel. Below are my favorite ways to keep these costs low.

  • Bus & Metro System Day Pass - these will give you unlimited use of public transportation for a set number of days for a flat rate. I loveeeee using these to get around, this is usually the cheapest form of transportation.

  • Hotel with free airport shuttle and local ride will save you money on airport transfers and rides within a local range of your hotel. Be sure to confirm availability and reservation notice required with your hotel front desk.

  • I also love walking to explore the city but to be efficient I’ll group activates by area of the city, so the things I want to do are close to each other requiring less transportation time and distance.

Spending Smart on Activities

Activities are one of my favorite parts of travel! But while you are rushing to fit everything into your trip these costs can add up quickly. Here’s how I try to find the best price for these items.

  • Check the tourism office for discounts on popular attractions, like City Tourism Passes where you can a discount price on the most popular attraction tickets for buying a few at once.

    • ✨Pro Tip: Many attractions offer cheaper ticket prices when you buy online, even at the time of use or buying in advance

  • Research free and local activities - weekend markets, park concerts and local festivals are an amazing way to “travel like a local” and support local businesses.

  • When researching activities and events, sign up for their newsletter so you’ll be notified of ticket discounts and presales.

Top 3 Tips for Saving on Flights & Hotels

Hotels and Flights are usually the most expensive item on your travels. Here are my favorite tips to making sure these don’t eat too much of my travel budget!

  • Plan ahead! flights are hotels are often cheaper the further in advance you buy them BUT balance this with the ability to change your plans if needed with flexible cancellation & refund policies.

    • ✨Pro Tip: Even if you are not ready to buy Flights, set a Google Flights price watch alert to keep an eye on the cost.

  • Skip the flight and road trip instead! if your destination is only a few hours driving away, is it really easier and quicker to fly?

  • Split the hotel costs with a travel buddy!! and enjoy those cost saving travel benefits like included breakfasts and airport shuttles!

I recently did a 6-part blog post series, Travel Money Chat! to share tips on all things travel money like using ATMS, planning your travel budget, how to save and more! You can Read These Blog Posts Here! Remember, #spendintentionally will enable us to travel more frequently!

Want More Travel Skills & Tips?

Grab a Copy of My How-To & Travel Skills Handbook! Available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Bookshop & Local Bookstores via Ingram. Thank you for Supporting my Blog & Newsletter by Grabbing a Copy!

“I believe we should all have access to travel. Travel doesn’t just take us to a new location, it gives us access to careers, education, culture and understanding. All things we are all worthy of, We All Deserve to See the World.”

Lydia Copeland

Thanks for Reading! I’m Wishing you a full and peaceful season! Feel free to reply to this email to contact me or request any blog topics!

Keep Traveling & Pouring into Yourself - XOXO - Lydia

Additional Travel & Life Resources

Here is my main blog page, LydsLifeSkills.com, full of all of my blog posts! Use the tabs in the headers to find the blog post subjects that you love like travel, career and finance.

I love being organized when I travel so I’ve decided to share my FREE Travel Planning Template via GoogeSheets! This template has an itinerary that automagically creates a spend review for your trip! it also includes travel packing and to-do lists. Upon opening, select “make a copy” to save it to your google account. Each newsletter will have link to get your copy, so lookout for updates!

You can also follow me on Google Reviews and Trip Advisor to see my reviews of the attractions, hotels and restaurants along my travels and at home in Tampa, Florida.

By Popular Demand! Here’s my Week Planner Worksheet Download, I built this to give me peace and keep me focused on my goals each week. May you have a wonderful week with it, filled with many achievements✨

Lyds Life Skills Weekly Planner Version 2024.pdf422.13 KB • PDF File